monogatari watch order

Monogatari watch order

Hey there! To be honest monogatari isn’t for everyone, but it’s unique and there is nothing like it anywhere! It has a superb character development  

Should u watch Monogatari?

If you are a new anime watcher, I suggest skipping monogatari, for it isn’t the most newbie-friendly anime out there. The pacing is pretty neat, and is heavily dialogue based! Monogatari is a tough one for anyone to judge. Sometimes the stories are amazing and can enthrall anyone. And at times it isn’t that great!


Koyomi Araragi is a third-year student in high-school. Koyomi was a vampire for a short period of time after surviving a vampire attack. This introduction into the supernatural world sends him on a path and journey meeting many different characters throughout his life going forward, all who play a part in the bigger picture of the series. The girls he meets and helps along the way are all involved in the supernatural realm. The other important characters are his close friends, consisting of Tsubasa Hanekawa who is a genius, Shinobu Oshino who is a donut loving vampire, bite-happy spirit Mayoi Hachikuji, the athletic Suruga Kanbaru, the stalker Nadeko Sengoku and the tsundere Hitagi Senjogahara.

Watch Order-

This order is recommended for first time Monogatari viewers. It is how most viewers have followed the story, as it was the most plausible order being that it was how the series was released.

Watching it in this order is how the story is intended to be, and it is possibly the best order for first-time viewers. The biggest difference in this order is that Kizumonogatari, which is the origin story, is only shown later on as the finale. Some feel that this might leave many questions unanswered for first-time viewers, but the other seasons and episodes do provide enough information to follow the storyline.


Bakemonogatari 15 episodes (final 3 are ONA), 5 arcs [1st season]

  • Hitagi Crab
  • Mayoi Snail
  • Suruga Monkey
  • Nadeko Snake
  • Tsubasa Cat


Nisemonogatari 11 episodes, 2 arcs [1st season]

  • Karen Bee
  • Tsukihi Phoenix
  • Nekomonogatari (Kuro)
  • Nekomonogatari (Kuro) 4 episodes (ONA), 1 arc [1st season]
  • Tsubasa Family

Monogatari Series: Second Season

Monogatari Series: Second Season 23 episodes, 5 arcs [2nd season]

  • Tsubasa Tiger (aka Nekomonogatari (Shiro))
  • Mayoi Jiangshi (aka Kabukimonogatari)
  • Nadeko Medusa (aka Otorimonogatari)
  • Shinobu Time (aka Onimonogatari)
  • Hitagi End (aka Koimonogatari)


Hanamonogatari 5 episodes, 1 arc [2nd season]

  • Suruga Devil
  • Tsukimonogatari
  • Tsukimonogatari 4 episodes, 1 arc [3rd season]
  • Yotsugi Doll

Owarimonogatari (Part 1)

Owarimonogatari (Part 1) 12 episodes, 4 arcs [3rd season]

  • Ougi Formula
  • Sodachi Riddle
  • Sodachi Lost
  • Shinobu Mail


Koyomimonogatari 12 episodes (ONA), 12 arcs [3rd season]

  • Koyomi Stone
  • Koyomi Flower
  • Koyomi Sand
  • Koyomi Water
  • Koyomi Wind
  • Koyomi Tree
  • Koyomi Tea
  • Koyomi Mountain
  • Koyomi Torus
  • Koyomi Seed
  • Koyomi Nothing
  • Koyomi Dead


Kizumonogatari 3 films, 1 arc [1st season]

  • Tekketsu-hen: Koyomi Vamp part 1
  • Nekketsu-hen: Koyomi Vamp part 2
  • Reiketsu-hen: Koyomi Vamp part 3

Owarimonogatari (Part 2)

Owarimonogatari (Part 2) 7 episodes, 3 arcs [3rd season]

  • Mayoi Hell
  • Hitagi Rendezvous
  • Ougi Dark

Zoku Owarimonogatari

Zoku Owarimonogatari 6 episodes, 1 arc [3rd season]

Author Posts

Leave a Reply